Home > Branding > Adding a custom welcome message to your SharePoint 2010 site

Adding a custom welcome message to your SharePoint 2010 site

I wanted to share a quick tip on how to change the welcome message of your SharePoint 2010 site.  In SharePoint 2007, it used to say “Welcome, Matt Huber”.  Now it just says your display name like “Huber, Matt”.  Well, I’m going to take it one step further!

I’m there there are a bunch of different ways to do this…but there’s a method I’ve used in the past.

Reference JQuery on your custom master.page in the <head> tag…like this:

<script type="text/javascript" src="link to your JS"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        $(".s4-trc-container-menu span a").prepend("Welcome Back ");
    });
</script>

Welcome Back

That should do it!  You can use this technique to change all kinds of things.  Let me know what you think or if you have any other tips on how to do this!

Categories: Branding
  1. Nlewis
    July 26, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Am I missing something? I keep getting an “object expected” error when the page loads in the browser. I am so hoping to get this to work! 🙂

    • July 27, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      Hi Nlewis,

      Did you add your JQuery reference? I think I’ve come across your error before…and I believe I solved it by adding a JQuery reference to my code. I updated the code in the post, please try that again.

      Let me know how that works! Thanks for reading!

  2. nlewis
    July 27, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    That did it, thanks! Now is there an easy fix to show the user’s first name or display the name first name, last name?

  3. June 23, 2016 at 2:41 pm

    what jQuery are you using for this? I don’t see any updated code in this post.

  1. February 8, 2012 at 2:57 am

Leave a Reply

