Home > Lync 2010, SharePoint, SP 2010 > SharePoint 2010 and Lync 2010: Adventures in Integration Part 2

SharePoint 2010 and Lync 2010: Adventures in Integration Part 2

So…part one of this series I started with a teaser about how I was tasked with building some SharePoint and Lync 2010 (the upgraded Messenger 2007 client) integration.  I’d like to talk about how to setup that development environment…because in the beginning…it was kind of annoying going through all of the Lync 2010 Server setups.

First off, lets talk about the completed setup.  I consider this the bare minimum that you would need to start developing for both Lync and SharePoint.

  1. 2 servers.  1 primary purpose is DC, 1 primary purpose is Lync, SharePoint & Visual Studio.
  2. I recommend VM.  Snapshots are nice….I can this setup on a laptop (core i7, 8gb ram) and I was still hurting performance wise.  
  3. SDK’s for Lync, UCMA 3.0, Silverlight 4.0 
  4. All windows service pack updates

Note:  You can do this with the new DC/SP2010 server (ALM TFS/SP VM package) and then create a Lync Server with VS 2010 on it.
Another-note:  You must have Lync Server installed on your development machine to take advantage of Lync Controls (the bits/pieces of the Lync UI that let you develop for the platform). 
Another-nother-note:  You can’t use the Lync/UCMA SDKs on machines that don’t have Lync Server 2010 installed.
Another-nudder-note:  You CANNOT install Lync 2010 on a Domain Controller.

I could keep going with those =)

Those are the specs…and this is how I would install it:

  1. Create a Sysprepped Windows Server 2008 R2 image (that is fully configured and updated minus roles).
  2. On server A:  add roles/features:  Active Directory Domain Services, Active Directory Certificate Services, RSAT.
  3. On server B:  add it to the domain.  Make sure you re-log in as the domain admin…and not the admin of that machine.
  4. On server B:  add roles/features:  RSAT, IIS, .Net framework 3.5.
  5. Install:  Lync Server 2010 (follow these AMAZING instructions to install Lync Server 2010), SharePoint 2010 (any version), Visual Studio 2010 (with SharePoint tools).  Don’t forget SDK’s UCMA 3.0, Lync 2010 SDK, Silverlight 4.0 SDK.

It looks simple, but the Lync 2010 install is far from it.  I highly recommend you look at the provided link and google all install errors as you see them.  It’s a frustrating install if its your first time.

Once you have that setup, you can IM between both of the machines.  To me, its amazing the level of encapsulation that goes in this product.  Find a user and chat with them.  The user is totally oblivious to the amount of technical complexity that is under the hood!

In the next part of the series, I’m going to show how to create a “Hello World Lync/Silverlight/SP” customization.  Fun Stuff…..stay tuned!

Categories: Lync 2010, SharePoint, SP 2010
  1. May 4, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I’m trying to get a Hello World Silverlight app going. I only have it working in WPF. I can working on a client only machine. Have you had any luck yet?

    • May 9, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      -Scott

      I have had some luck with it =) That will come next post. Are you having trouble with the Silverlight part, Lync part, or SharePoint client object model? If Lync Controls…make sure you have http://YourServerName as a trusted site or the Lync Controls will not work. With the other two, there are plenty of samples on MSDN. I can help point you in the right direction if you need. Thanks!

  2. May 9, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Hey,
    It appears that the ” AMAZING instructions to install Lync Server 2010″ are not accessible. Is there a way to get the link working?

    Thanks a lot,

    W.

  3. May 9, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks for the pingback Matt! 🙂

  4. Robert Eshelman
    August 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Matt,

    Thank you very much for the article! I am attempting to install Lync Server 2010 on my SharePoint 2010 server as well. I am stuck at the AD Schema Prep phase with a ‘cannot locate global catalog’ error. I have combed through the internet and applied every fix I can think of: permissions, updated registry setting for remote access to schema catalog, enterprise admin and schema admin credentials, etc.

    I opened a MS ticket, but was told that they can’t help me because co-hosting SharePoint and Lync is ‘unsupported’. Is there any help you can offer in troubleshooting / diagnosing this issue?

    • August 2, 2011 at 10:14 am

      Hi Robert,

      I’ve had this same issue. Make sure that you log out and re-log back in as DOMAIN\Administrator instead of MACHINENAME\Administrator. That was the issue in my case. There is also a “nslookup” command that you can try….are you able to perform a nslookup on that server at all?

      Let me know…I’ll help the best that I can!

      • Robert Eshelman
        August 2, 2011 at 10:50 am

        Matt,

        Thank you for the response. I never log in as machine\admin, I can only log in as domain\admin (I am not the host). I have even added enterprise admin to my account, although there aren’t any significant differences between the two. I have done an nslookup of the server, no issue there. I have verified communications between them and even manually verified the DNS entries myself.

        I have manually run all of the schema prep scripts on the domain controller and had no issues. For some reason, the lync installation just doesn’t want to acknowledge that there is a global catalog. It just seems that I can’t move forward with the installation until I can resolve this issue.

        I know it is going to be something small somewhere, but I honestly just don’t know where to look anymore.

        Thank you very much for the help! I appreciate, very much, you taking the time to send me an email.

  5. August 5, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Robert,

    Just to confirm…you can nslookup from the Lync server thats joined to the domain (so not from the domain controller)? Does the event log say anything? Can you paste the error in the comments?

    Sorry for the slow response…been slammed lately!

  6. Dipti
    August 14, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Hi Matt,
    Your article is very helpful 🙂
    I am developing ucma application to handle any change in database
    I have sharepoint site . If any entry is added in the alert table of database , I want to send IM and mail to all users registered . I am developing ucma 3.0 for this.

    But i didn’t find any help for this database events on net.
    I have following queries
    1.Which platform needed for this application ? server /client
    2.Which endpoint is suitable ? application /user
    3.How to handle database events ?
    4.I tried to create trusted application using powershell , but i was not able to enable topology. I was not able to add trusted application using topology builder .
    My lab configuration is as follows
    Machine A: ad dns , ca
    machine B- lync server : fqdn :xyz.lync.abc.com(xyz=machine name)
    and i am giving same fqdn while creating trusted application . but it is not accepting same name in topology builder . In powershell it is accepting , but error while enabling topology “the application server must have a dependent register service ”

    Can you please provide me any solution for this ?

  7. December 8, 2011 at 12:01 am

    That is really fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for in search of extra of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

  8. June 16, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    Hi, I check your blogs daily. Your writing style is awesome,
    keep up the good work!

  9. July 7, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I’m
    glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  10. July 21, 2013 at 4:32 am

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  11. July 22, 2013 at 9:59 am

    What i do not realize is if truth be told how you are not actually
    a lot more well-appreciated than you might be right now.
    You are so intelligent. You understand thus significantly in the case of this
    matter, produced me in my view imagine it from numerous numerous angles.
    Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested except it is something to do with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs nice. All the time take care of it up!

  12. July 27, 2013 at 1:41 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

