Home > General SharePoint, SharePoint > My MOSS 2007 Development VM

My MOSS 2007 Development VM

I think SharePoint Development success is very closely tied to the tools (and of course experience/knowledge) of the developer.  This is why I want to share my MOSS 2007 Development Environment VM details with you.

First, the computer.  I use a 2.5Ghz Core 2 Duo with 4Gb of RAM.  I dedicate ~2Gb to the VM while letting my host run with ~2Gb.  The Guest VM could probably consume more, however I have not experienced significant slow downs.  Ideally, 8Gb would be here, with ~6Gb dedicated to the client.

Second, the software.  Here’s a listing of some of the software I use:

  • Windows Server 2008
  • MOSS 2007 SP2
  • SQL 2008
  • SharePoint Designer 2007
  • IE 7 (Multiple IE didn’t seem to work on the Guest…)
  • Fire Fox
  • IE Dev Toolbar & Firebug
  • AOL Page Test (loading times)
  • Fiddler

Thirdly, the SharePoint Site with test data.  I create a couple of different site collections to host different portal front ends (collaboration & publishing).  Each have a couple of Sites below them.  In the Site Collection utilizing the Publishing Site Template, I will create a page for each type of site collection (since these can be annoying when testing branding…and its good for a thorough test of branding..)  I also setup a SSP with MySites.

This setup has evolved over the last year and will continue to evolve.  I’m excited to start setting up my SP2010 VM…when I get the hardware!  I’ll keep you guys posted on what I put on that VM and when I update my MOSS2007 one.

Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions!

-Matt

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

